People Inc. FAQ

People Inc. System Maintenance – Locked User Session

There are occasions when a user’s computer is not shut down properly or the network connection is lost. This can result in a Locked User Session. This can in turn result in the computer stating that too many People Inc. users are logged in. In this case, the sessions need to be manually terminated. The steps below detail how to do this.

Closing or terminating a Session

This needs to be performed in the System Administration Module using the User Session Maintenance option. This is under Management > System Maintenance > All Tasks (see below).

Locked Sessions 1

The User Session Maintenance screen will give the user a list of all current users that are logged in and which application they are using. The user will need to identify which sessions are no longer needed using the User, Computer Name and Duration fields. To terminate the selected session(s), use the minus button at the top left.

Locked Sessions 2

Set Time Out

Another way to deal with a Locked User Session is to set the Windows Client timeout to a lower value. This option can be found in the Application Server Configuration on the Application Server. In a standard install of People Inc. the timeout period is 480 minutes (8 hours). The Application Server will automatically terminate the session after 480 minutes of inactivity.

If you lower this value to 60 minutes the system will automatically log out any sessions inactive for 60 minutes. In many circumstances this will remove the need to terminate the session manually. Please be aware that lowering the timeout value by too much, may log users out when not desired.

DOWNLOAD THIS FAQ

If you require any additional information please contact AgathonHR by phone 01242 663974
Or by emailing helpdesk@agathonhr.co.uk

People Inc. very rarely goes wrong but when it does there’s plenty of resources on our website or contact the help desk

agathonhr

  • Implementation Difficulty 40%
  • Benefit 95%
  • Set up Time/Costs 5%
  • Ease of use 25%

New Feature Rating

Our ratings show how easy it is to implement this new feature and how the benefits outweigh the time and costs for implementing it.

Note: Features with a Difficulty rating of over 50% will need to be set up by one of our developers.

New Feature Rating

Our ratings show how easy it is to implement this new feature and how the benefits outweigh the time and costs for implementing it.

Note: Features with a Difficulty rating of over 50% will need to be set up by one of our developers.